A Tale of Two Cities

CLIENT : The Apartments (AUS)
Screen print Poster

1985-2015, Paris and New York City.
A screenprint to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Australian band The Apartments, lead by its incredible songwriter, Peter Milton Walsh.

After eighteen years away from the music scene The Apartments released their fifth album, No Song, No Spell, No Madrigal, in the Spring of 2015, on Microcultures, a Parisian label. At the same time in New York City, the Captured Tracks label released a new version of The Evening Visits… And Stays for Years, the first album by the band, which for many became an instant classic on its release in 1985.
A wonderful coincidence that we just had to celebrate!

I worked on the artworks of two of The Apartments’ albums (7 Songs and No Song, No Spell, No Madrigal) and on the posters of two of their tours in 2012 and 2015. These experiences made me grow closer to Peter Milton Walsh. The idea for the artwork of No Song, No Spell, No Madrigal is the result of conversations between us.

The screen print we have now created is an allegory of Peter Milton Walsh's universe. A universe full of music, literature, and movie references. A universe where the characters from the best American novels meet Nouvelle Vague movies. A universe where the present is lived like a sublimed past.
This new project is a new four-handed illustration with my friend Stephane Constant from Dezzig.

The screenprint is available on the Dezzig website


A limited edition of 120 individually signed and numbered screenprint.
4 color screenprint / Size 50 X 70 cm / Fedrigoni Paper Sirio black black 300 g.

Photographs © Stéphane Constant/Dezzig

Remonter en haut de page

Accueil

Message d'erreur

Deprecated function : The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls dans menu_set_active_trail() (ligne 2405 dans /home/mousedes/www/includes/menu.inc).

A Tale of Two Cities

CLIENT : The Apartments (AUS)
Affiche sérigraphie

 

1985-2015, Paris et New York.
Une sérigraphie pour célébrer 30 années de carrière du groupe australien The Apartments, emmené par le songwriter Peter Milton Walsh.

Après 18 ans d’absence discographique, le groupe était de retour au printemps 2015, avec un nouvel album, « No Song, No Spell, No Madrigal », publié sur le label parisien Microcultures. Au même moment à New York, le prestigieux label Captured Tracks rééditait le premier album du groupe « The Evening Visits… And Stays for Years », devenu un classique depuis sa sortie en 1985. Un heureux hasard que l'on se devait de célébrer !

Au travers de mes collaborations avec The Apartments (les pochettes des albums «7 Songs » et «No Song, No Spell, No Madrigal », les affiches des tournées 2012 et 2015, la sérigraphie « An evening with…»), une réelle complicité s'est installée avec Peter Milton Walsh.

La sérigraphie est une allégorie de l'univers si particulier du songwriter. Un univers qui brille de références musicales, littéraires et cinématographiques. Un univers où les personnages des grands romanciers américains déambulent dans les films de la Nouvelle Vague française.
Ce nouveau projet  est aussi l'occasion d'une nouvelle collaboration "à quatre mains" avec mon ami Stéphane Constant de l'atelier de sérigraphie Dezzig.

La sérigraphie est disponible à l'achat sur le site Dezzig

 

Edition limitée à 120 exemplaires (dont 50 exemplaires hors commerce), numérotés et signés
Format 50 x 70 cm, 4 couleurs sur papier Fedrigoni Sirio black black 300 g.

Photographies © Stéphane Constant/Dezzig


Remonter en haut de page